Grants and awards for undergraduates

Undergraduate Essay Prize / Wylie Medal (Cash Prize and a Medal) 

The Wylie Medal 2017 will be awarded to the most meritorious essay on this year’s topic “Social media – friend or foe?” written by an undergraduate medical student at a university in Great Britain or Ireland. The overall winner will receive the Wylie Medal in memory of Dr W Derek Wylie, President of the AAGBI 1980-82.

The Association recognises that many medical schools also offer prizes to medical students for essays on a topic related to anaesthesia and has decided that the winning of a local prize will not preclude entry for the essay prize. However applicants must inform the AAGBI if funding or a prize is being sought from other bodies (email

Essays should be prepared according to the general format of the ‘Notice to Contributors’ found here »

Applications were invited from medical students studying in Great Britain and Ireland (subject to confirmation of eligibility). All applicants should be the sole author of their essay. The word limit is 1000 words (excluding references and headings). Some essays may be published online or in Anaesthesia News, depending on their suitability and at the discretion of the AAGBI. All essay submissions will be subject to a plagiarism check and the results will be considered as part of the judging process.

The closing date for submissions was 31 January 2017

The winners for the 2016 Undergraduate Essay Prize entitled “Anaesthetist or perioperative physician” were:

2nd prize - Mr Peter Killeen
2nd prize - Miss Andreana Panayi
2nd prize - Mr Preemal Patel
2nd prize - Mr Paul Traynor

Examples of previous winning essays are available to download below.

2015 Wylie Medal winner's essay »

2014 Wylie Medal winner's essay »
2013 Wylie Medal winner's essay »
2012 Wylie Medal winner's essay »
2011 Wylie Medal winner's essay »

Undergraduate Elective Funding

Applications will be invited from medical students studying in Great Britain and Ireland (subject to confirmation of eligibility) to apply to the AAGBI Foundation for funding towards a medical student elective period taking place between October 2017 and March 2018. Overseas students should ensure that they are permitted to apply for charitable funding.

Definition of medical student elective

‘A placement undertaken as part of a medical degree with the content and setting of the placement largely decided by the student and approved by the medical school.’

The AAGBI recognises the benefits that the medical student elective can bring for a successful career in anaesthesia, pain, medicine and intensive care medicine.  In particular students may become more flexible, resourceful, more resilient and more culturally aware through projects based in developing countries (a particular focus of the work of the AAGBI). Hence elective placements supporting work in developing countries are given priority. Grants will only be awarded to applicants who intend to spend time away from their base academic institution and whose travel, accommodation and subsistence costs are increased as a result.

The AAGBI is keen to support medical student elective placements which:

  1. Prepare students for a successful career in anaesthesia, pain, peri-operative, and intensive care medicine.
  2. Help to develop a student’s interest or passion that can then make an impact on patient care both at the time and in the future.
  3. Are well organised with consideration of personal safety, patient safety, appropriate supervision (both clinical and non clinical) and with support in place in the event of any difficulties.
  4. Support projects in developing countries in an ethical and sustainable way bringing benefits to both the student and the developing country partners.

To complete your application you will need to supply:

  • Your personal details
  • Details of visiting centre and dates of attendance
  • A description of experience to be gained and projects to be performed (500 words max)
  • Information about why you have chosen this speciality (200 words max)
  • The amount of funding applied for (maximum £750) broken down into travel and accommodation
  • Details of any other funding applications you have made

On the final page of the submission process which gives a summary of your application, please ensure you check the box to accept the terms and conditions and click Finish to submit. You will then receive an email confirmation and copy of your application.

Elective applications will be assessed using the scoring criteria

The closing date for submissions for travel between April - September 2017 has now closed.

Applications for the next round of funding will be considered at the October 2017 meeting of the Research & Grants Committee.

If you have any queries please email

Successful applicants in 2016 round two were:

Padriac Behan Australia Report to follow »
Gregor Devoy Canada Report to follow »
Srinidhi Krishnamoorthy New Zealand Download PDF report »
Sarah Leask Ethiopia Report to follow »
Ka Ting Ng Malaysia Report to follow »
Benjamin Stone South Africa Report to follow »

Successful applicants in 2016 round one were:

Caitriona Callan Mauritius Download PDF report »
Anne Burton Ghana Download PDF report »
Abbey Cahill-Kearns Birmingham, UK Download PDF report »
Christopher Lewis South Africa Download PDF report »
Martin William Gorham Australia Download PDF report »
Fei Lin Sri Lanka Report to follow »
Saba Syed London/Dublin Download PDF report »
Savan Shah India Download PDF report »
Pierre Berger Samoa Download PDF report »
Grace Hatton USA Download PDF report »


Successful applicants in 2015 round two were:

Jack Eldridge New Zealand Download PDF report »

Kaitlin Mayne

New Zealand Download PDF report »
Fiona Robertson Japan Download PDF report »


Successful applicants in 2015 round one were:

Vanessa Albert Malawi Download PDF report »
Phoebe Hill South Africa Download PDF report »
Elliott Carthy West Indies Download PDF report »
Marielle Li Shetland Download PDF report »
Wesley Cheung Canada Report not received
Luke La Hausse de Lalouviere South Africa Download PDF report »
Calum Stannett Ecuador Download PDF report »
Chengyuan Zhang Nepal Download PDF report »
Alexandra Caulfield New Zealand Download PDF report »
Ashik Amlani Kuala Lumpur Report not received
Frances Wensley USA Download PDF report »