Anniversary Medal

Nominations are invited for the Anniversary Medal. Nominations should take the form of a short description of the nominee's contributions (maximum 500 words). Prior to submitting your nomination, you should gain approval from the nominee. Nominations, should be  emailed to, by 17:00 on 27 May 2019.

The Anniversary Medal was instituted in 2007 as part of the celebrations of the 75th anniversary of the AAGBI. The first person to be awarded the Anniversary Medal was Dr Kate Bullen, an SAS anaesthetist.

The medal is awarded to British and Irish anaesthetists who have held office in the Association and have provided exceptional service to the Association. It is also awarded to other individuals of distinction who have given significant service to Association members.


2018 Rachel Collis | Ruth Mayall | Anthea Mowat

2017 Tim Cook | Emma Plunkett

2016 Archie Naughton | John Carlisle

2015 Sarah Gibb

2013 Les Gemmell

Neil McGuire

Paul Wilson | Harry McFarlane

R Alladi

H Aitken | C McDowell

C Johnston | N Mackenzie | V Reid | The Section of Anaesthesia of the Royal Society of Medicine

K Bullen | D Dickson | R Greenbaum | J McAdoo