Honorary Membership 

Honorary Membership was instituted in 1932 at the time that the Association was founded. The award is accompanied by a citation and a certificate. The award is usually made at or about the time of retirement from clinical practice.

Honorary Membership is awarded by Council to:

  1. British and Irish anaesthetists who have held high office in the Association.
  2. Eminent British and Irish anaesthetists of great distinction who have not necessarily held high Association office.
  3. Very eminent overseas anaesthetists.
  4. Members of other medical disciplines who have contributed to the specialty of anaesthesia.
  5. Members of other professions who have rendered significant service to the Association.

View all Honorary Members (1932 - 2017) »