Sir Ivan Magill Gold Medal

Nominations are invited for the Sir Ivan Magill Gold Medal. Nominations should take the form of a short description of the nominee's contributions (maximum 500 words). Prior to submitting your nomination, you should gain approval from the nominee. Nominations, should be  emailed to, by 17:00 on 27 May 2019.

The Sir Ivan Magill Gold Medal “for innovation” was instituted in 1988 to commemorate the centenary of the birth of the pioneer anaesthetist Sir Ivan Magill. It is awarded for uniquely outstanding innovative contributions to the specialty of anaesthesia. It has been awarded seven times. The recipients have certainly made unique innovations to the specialty in outstanding, but none-the-less interestingly different ways. The medal is cast in gold. The obverse bears the relief portrait of Sir Ivan Magill. The name and date of the recipient is on the reverse and there is a bar on the ribbon bearing the inscription “For Innovation”.


Sir Ivan Magill Gold Medalists

2017 Steve Yentis, London

2013 Iain Wilson, Exeter

T Cecil Gray, Liverpool

William Mapleson, Cardiff

1995 Archie Brain, London

1993 Michael Rosen, Cardiff

1988 John Nunn, Middlesex