The AAGBI consists of two distinct legal entities;

  • the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland, a company limited by guarantee (AAGBI) 
  • the AAGBI Foundation, also a company limited by guarantee but in addition, a charity (Foundation) registered in England and Wales and in Scotland.

Each entity is governed by a Board. The Association is governed by an elected Board of Directors; the AAGBI Foundation is governed by an appointed Board of Trustees.  The Association is the sole corporate member of the Foundation and appoints the majority of the trustees. Both boards may also co-opt to fill a limited number of places.

Meet the AAGBI Council Find out more »

Council declarations of interest »

Every elected director of the Association is automatically a member of Council. The Council is an advisory body that includes representatives from other stakeholder organisations. The Council’s role is to provide strategic advice to the boards; it has no decision making powers. There are 12 elected members of the Board of Directors, each serving for a period of four years. Nominations from members of the AAGBI are requested annually to fill the three vacancies which arise and a ballot is held. The successful candidates take up their posts from the Annual Members’ Meeting in September.

We would like to congratulate the three newly elected members of the AAGBI Council who will take up their roles from the Annual Members Meeting at the Annual Congress in Liverpool in September 2017:

  • Dr Matthew Davies, Peterborough
  • Dr Ann Harvey, Cornwall
  • Dr Mathew Patteril, Coventry and Warwickshire

Thank you to the other candidates who stood for election. Your support for the work of the AAGBI is invaluable, and we hope you will consider standing again.
We would also like to congratulate the new Officers who will also take up their roles in September:

  • President-Elect – Dr Kathleen Ferguson, Aberdeen
  • Honorary Secretary-Elect – Dr Tim Meek, Middlesbrough

New President's Report & Blog

Dr Paul Clyburn, AAGBI PresidentPresident's Report & Blog
Dr Paul Clyburn,
President, AAGBI

Find out more »

Meet the AAGBI Board/Council

The Council provides strategic advice to the boards; it has no decision making powers. More


Register of Interests for AAGBI Board & Council 2016-17

Annually AAGBI Board & Council members register their conflicts of interests.

Register of Interests for 2016-17>>

AAGBI Conflict of Interest Policy>>

Advice for AAGBI external representatives

On some occasions expert advice is sought by the AAGBI from outside the council. The engagement of those representing the AAGBI is outlined in the AAGBI advisers and representatives – roles and responsibilities.

Find out more »