First female President Elect for UK anaesthesia organisation

Today at its Annual Congress conference in Liverpool, the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) welcomed its first female President-Elect. Dr Kathleen Ferguson, Consultant Anaesthetist at Aberdeen Royal Infirmary and former AAGBI Honorary Treasurer, became the President-Elect of the second largest specialty medical association in the UK. She will become the thirty-eighth President of the AAGBI in September 2018 at the Annual Congress in Dublin.

On her appointment Dr Kathleen Ferguson said: “It has been a privilege to serve as an Officer of the AAGBI and now an even greater one as President-Elect. Although electing a woman President might make a headline, perhaps of greater note are the established values and aims of our Association and the legacy of its many achievements over time. Alongside colleagues and friends on the Association's Board, I look forward to Dr Clyburn's second year in the chair, a time for me to watch and learn with even more focus. Under his leadership the Association will work to remain relevant and to provide service that is of benefit and value to its members.

Dr Tim Meek, Consultant Anaesthetist at South Tees Hospital became Honorary Secretary-Elect and will also assume the role of Honorary Secretary in 2018.  The AAGBI also welcomes three new elected Council members:

  • Dr Matt Davies, Consultant in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine, Peterborough
  • Dr Ann Harvey, Consultant Anaesthetist, Cornwall
  • Dr Mathew Patteril, Consultant Anaesthetist with special interest in cardiothoracic anaesthesia, Coventry and Warwickshire



Please note that it may take up to 5 minutes for your comments to appear.