Innovation in Anaesthesia Award – shortlist announced

The Association of Anaesthetists has announced the shortlist for its 2019 Award for Innovation in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Award:

  • MyPreOp  - online patient owned preop assessment, Dr Paul Upton, CEO of Ultramed Ltd.
  • ‘On-Demand’ Computerised Decision Support in paediatric anaesthesia, Dr Jason Van Schoor, Helix Centre.
  • The Twirlers – getting anaesthetists out of a spin, Dr Sonia Shah, Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital.

The award aims to encourage and reward innovation in anaesthesia and provide a potential springboard for new ideas. Now in its seventh year, the 2019 award received eight applications.

Speaking about the award shortlist, Dr Ravi Rao Baikady, Consultant anaesthetist and Association of Anaesthetists board lead on Innovation, said: “The standard for this year’s award was particularly high and we were thrilled to see so many new and truly innovative ideas relevant to anaesthesia, critical care and pain medicine. Open to all trainee, SAS and consultant anaesthetists, this award provides a route to encouraging unique and enterprising ideas helping to improve healthcare for all our patients. I look forward to announcing the overall winner at our 2019 Winter Scientific Meeting on 11 January 2019.”

Winner of the 2018 Innovation Award was Little Journey’ app: a novel virtual reality preparatory tool for children undergoing ambulatory surgery: Dr Chris Evans, University College, London.

The overall winner and runners-up of the 2019 award will be announced at the Association of Anaesthetists 2019 Winter Scientific Meeting in London on 11 January 2019. This year’s award is supported by Fannin, Intersurgical and Fisher & Paykel Healthcare.

Please note that it may take up to 5 minutes for your comments to appear.