Shortlist announced for the 2018 AAGBI Award for Innovation in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain

The Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) has announced the shortlist for its 2018 Award for Innovation in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain:

  • ‘Little Journey’ app: a novel virtual reality preparatory tool for children undergoing ambulatory surgery: Dr Chris Evans, University College, London
  • The design and implementation of an electronic emergency theatre booking system: Dr George Gladstone, Bedford NHS Hospital Trust
  • iTraXS (intra Tracheal Multiplexed Sensing) Endotracheal Tube):Dr Andy Norris, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

The award aims to raise awareness among anaesthetists about the importance of innovation in healthcare. Now in its sixth year, the 2018 Award received ten applications.
The AAGBI Innovation Award is a great platform that allows healthcare’s largest hospital specialty to express new ideas relevant to anaesthesia, critical care and pain medicine. It’s open to trainee, SAS and consultant anaesthetists” said AAGBI Innovation Lead and Consultant Anaesthetist, Dr Gerry Keenan. “On behalf of the AAGBI, I offer warm congratulations to those shortlisted”.
The winners of the 2017 Innovation Award ‘An oxygen reservoir for use in difficult environments’ were Mr Robert Neighbour and Dr Roger Eltringham, Diamedica (UK) Ltd, assisted by the charity SAFE Anaesthesia Worldwide. The overall winner and runners-up of the 2018 Award will be announced at the AAGBI’s Winter Scientific Meeting in London on Friday 12th January 2018. This year’s Award is supported by Fannin, Intersurgical, and Fisher and Paykel Healthcare.



Please note that it may take up to 5 minutes for your comments to appear.