Grants and awards for SAS doctors

SAS Professional Development Grant of up to £2,000

The AAGBI invites applications for the SAS Professional Development Grant for 2018. The AAGBI awards this grant to enthusiastic SAS doctors who are members of the AAGBI, for training and professional development opportunities. The grant is intended to enhance the individual's experience, for example in attending clinical management, leadership and other educational skills courses or acquiring new skills which are relevant to the workplace, in particular where this improves the quality of patient care and improves service development.

The grant must not fund routine CPD activities which should be funded through the normal study leave budget of trusts, nor examination fees, exam preparation courses or College related fees.

The grant fund is a total of £2,000 and the awarding Committee may decide to award multiple awards within the total available in any one year, but in exceptional circumstances are able to award the full amount to one applicant.

All SAS doctors who are members of the AAGBI are eligible to apply.

Applicants should complete the SAS Professional Development Grant application and return it to

The closing date for applications is 30 March 2018 for consideration at the May meeting of the SAS Committee.

The successful applicant(s) will be expected to submit a report on their experience that will appear on the AAGBI website and may be published in Anaesthesia News.

If alternative funding becomes available for a project/course already supported by the AAGBI, the AAGBI should be notified immediately. This grant is not intended to cover the costs of attending a meeting or conference. Funding cannot be awarded retrospectively.

Discover how our SAS members have used the professional development grant to attend an international conference, and for professional training.

SAS Audit and Research Prizes

Download the winning essays from previous years:

2013 Dr Johann Willers Download PDF »
2012 Dr Johann Willers Download PDF »
2011 Dr Johann Willers Download PDF »
2009 Dr Smita Oswal Download PDF »
2008 Dr Smita Oswal Download PDF »