Innovation award in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain 2019

We are delighted to announce the winner and runners up for the 2019 Award for Innovation in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Award, who were presented with their awards at the Winter Scientific Meeting 2019 on Friday 11 January 2019.


MyPreOp  - online patient owned preop assessment, Dr Paul Upton, CEO of Ultramed Ltd. Press release.

Runners up

  • 'On-Demand’ Computerised Decision Support in paediatric anaesthesia, Dr Jason Van Schoor, Helix Centre.
  • The Twirlers – getting anaesthetists out of a spin, Dr Sonia Shah, Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital. 

Press release announcing the winner and runners up of the 2019 Innovation Award in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain.

About the Innovation award
The Association of Anaesthetists Award for Innovation in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain recognises the importance of innovation in healthcare for the benefit of patient safety, patient care and improvements in the hospital workplace. It is open to all anaesthetists, intensivists and pain specialists based in Great Britain and Ireland. All entries will be judged by a panel of experts in respective fields. The top three scoring entries will be shortlisted to present their work at the  Winter Scientific Meeting in January 2019, from which an overall winner will be decided.

The aims of the award for innovation:

  1. To promote innovation in anaesthesia and intensive care
  2. To help individuals in their product development journey' from concept to the finished product
  3. To facilitate introduction to the medical equipment manufacturers or relevant organisation
  4. To facilitate testing of new equipment or an idea
  5. To facilitate marketing of a new product or an idea.

Innovation in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain 2018 winner - Read interview in Anaesthesia News
Dr Chris Evans, winner of the 2018 Innovation Award. Presented by AAGBI President Dr Paul Clyburn
2018 Winner:
Little Journey app: a novel virtual reality preparatory tool for children undergoing ambulatory surgery

Developed by Dr Chris Evans (University College London), Ramani Moonesinghe (University College Hospital), and Flora Roumpani (University College London)

Each year, over 500,000 children undergo planned day-case surgery in the UK. Around three-quarters of these children experience anxiety before surgery, linked with short-term distress and longer-term problems such as separation anxiety, nightmares and bedwetting.  As a potential solution, Dr Evans and his colleagues developed Little Journey, an interactive, smartphone app that uses virtual reality (VR) to prepare children aged 3-12 years old for their operation - all from the comfort and safety of their home. Using a low-cost virtual reality headset, children can explore in 3D the ward, anaesthetic and recovery rooms they’ll actually visit on the day of their operation. They can select age-tailored animated staff characters to tell them about the hospital, and introduce them to the pieces of equipment they’ll see in each area - familiarising and desensitizing them to the hospital, so it’s all less scary on the day. The app is free to download from the Apple and Google Play stores, and takes 10-15 minutes to complete. With no ongoing hosting or maintenance costs, this sustainable solution is an exciting tool for every anaesthetist’s anxiety management arsenal. The 2018 award was presented at the AAGBI Winter Scientific Meeting.

Runner up: The design and implementation of an electronic emergency theatre booking system
Developed by: George Gladstone, Henry Hammerbeck, Marc Turnbull, Anwar Rashid (Bedford NHS Hospital Trust)
To improve communication between teams involved in the care of patients undergoing emergency surgery, the team designed and implemented a novel electronic booking system using existing IT infrastructure. All at no capital cost to their hospital trust. The aim was to improve the identification and appropriate management of patients at higher risk of post-operative complications, seeking to care for them in a more resource intense setting. This required close co-operation between anaesthetists, surgeons, and intensive care doctors. The system has also allowed for better planning on the emergency operating list, encouraging surgical teams to supply information about patient readiness for surgery, specific equipment they may need, and any significant clinical concerns the theatre and anaesthetic teams may need to be aware of. The new system has already shown improvements in the completion of pre-operative risk scoring and in intensive care admission rates for higher risk patients.

Runner up: iTraXS (intra Tracheal Multiplexed Sensing) Endotracheal Tube                    
Developed by Andrew Norris and Rishie Sinha (Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust), Stephen Morgan (University of Nottingham, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Advanced Optics Group), Ricardo Correia (University of Nottingham, Senior Research Fellow, Advanced Optics Group, Electrical and Electronic Engineering), Simon Talbot (P3 Medical Ltd) and Judith Booker.
The iTraXS [intra Tracheal Multiplexed Sensing] endotracheal tube is the first of a new generation of devices incorporating novel optical sensing to monitor patients.
Over one million people in the UK need an endotracheal tube each year. Though highly effective, the lining of the trachea is delicate, and the pressure from the tube causes injuries ranging from sore throats to lifelong tracheal narrowing and disability. iTraXS aims to reduce injury by monitoring contact pressure and local trachea blood flow, allowing staff to adjust conditions for individual patients. The unique ability of optical fibres to ‘multiplex’, i.e. to measure several parameters using one fibre, allows iTraXS to monitor vital signs such as oxygen levels and temperature using a single low-cost disposable device.
iTraXs was Funded by the National Institute for Health Research Invention for Innovation.

Sponsorship opportunities

If you are interested in sponsor opportunities relating to the Innovation Award, please contact Marketing & Communications Manager, Stephanie Addington, email or call 020 7631 8854. For more information visit here.

Previous winning entries for the Prize for Innovation:

2017 - An oxygen reservoir for use in difficult environments by Robert Neighbour and Roger Eltringham (a team from Diamedica (UK) Ltd, assisted by the charity Safe Anaesthesia Worldwide)
2016 -
Relax Anaesthetics by Dr Peter Brooks, Consultant Anaesthetist at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.
Case study of Relax Anaesthetics, featured in Anaesthesia News, May 2016
2015 -
The Non Injectable Arterial Connector (NIC) by Dr Maryanne Mariyaselvam
2014 -
'SAFIRA - Safe Injection System for Regional Anaesthesia by Dr Emad Fawzy.
2013 -
'The Mobile Capnograph' by Safe Anaesthesia Worldwide.
2012 - 
'Air-Free Drip Chamber' by Dr James Limb and 'Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anaesthesia with an Optimised Ultrasound Transducer' by Dr Graeme McLeod.

Innovation panel

Dr Gerry Keenan
Dr Kathleen Ferguson
Dr Tim Meek
Prof Tim Cook
Prof Judith Hall
Dr Bernie Liban
Prof Monty Mythen
Dr Patrick Magee
Prof Jaideep Pandit
Prof Robert Sneyd
Dr Neil Soni
Dr Steve Yentis

NHS Innovations and Medical Futures

NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement

Set up between 2002 and 2005 the 8 NHS Innovations Hubs are helping to deliver improved care and better outcomes for patients.
Find out more »

Medical Futures

Medical Futures is one of the world’s leading fora for catalysing medical innovation.
Find out more »