The AAGBI Award for Innovation in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain 2018  is open to all anaesthetists, intensivists and pain specialists based in Great Britain and Ireland. The emphasis is on new ideas contributing to patient safety, high quality clinical care and improvements in the working environment.

Announcing the winner and runners up of the 2018 Prize, which was presented on Friday 12 January 2018 at the AAGBI Winter Scientific Meeting:

Winner: Little Journey app: a novel virtual reality preparatory tool for children undergoing ambulatory surgery - Dr Chris Evans, London


Runners up

  • The design and implementation of an electronic emergency theatre booking system - Dr George Gladstone, Bedford
  • iTraXS (intra Tracheal Multiplexed Sensing) endotrachael tube - Dr Andrew Norris, Nottingham


The aims of the AAGBI award for innovation:

  1. To promote innovation in anaesthesia and intensive care
  2. To help individuals in their product development journey' from concept to the finished product
  3. To facilitate introduction to the medical equipment manufacturers or relevant organisation
  4. To facilitate testing of new equipment or an idea
  5. To facilitate marketing of a new product or an idea.

Sponsorship opportunities

If you are interested in sponsor opportunities relating to the 2018 AAGBI Innovation Award, please contact AAGBI Marketing & Communications Manager, Stephanie Addington, email or call 020 7631 8854. For more information visit here.

Previous winning entries for the AAGBI Prize for Innovation:

The 2017 award  was presented to Robert Neighbour and Roger Eltringham (a team from Diamedica (UK) Ltd, assisted by the charity Safe Anaesthesia Worldwide) for their innovative project 'An oxygen reservoir for use in difficult environments'.

Well done also to the joint runners up:

  •     The SOLOX ™  System: Susan Dorsch, Roger Eltringham, Ulva Konsburg, Robery Neighbour and David Peel.
  •     The :Tansen Videolaryngoscope": Dr Chris Lambert Royal Free Hospital, London

Thank you to Fannin, Intersurgical and Fujifilm Sonosite for supporting the 2017 Award.

2016 - Relax Anaesthetics by Dr Peter Brooks, Consultant Anaesthetist at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.
Case study of Relax Anaesthetics, featured in Anaesthesia News,
Case study of Relax Anaesthetics, featured in Anaesthesia News, May 2016

2015 - The Non Injectable Arterial Connector (NIC) by Dr Maryanne Mariyaselvam
2014 - 'SAFIRA - Safe Injection System for Regional Anaesthesia by Dr Emad Fawzy.
2013 - 'The Mobile Capnograph' by Safe Anaesthesia Worldwide.
2012 -  'Air-Free Drip Chamber' by Dr James Limb and 'Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anaesthesia with an Optimised Ultrasound Transducer' by Dr Graeme McLeod.

Innovation panel

Dr Gerry Keenan
Dr Kathleen Ferguson
Dr Tim Meek
Prof Tim Cook
Prof Judith Hall
Dr Bernie Liban
Prof Monty Mythen
Dr Patrick Magee
Prof Jaideep Pandit
Prof Robert Sneyd
Dr Neil Soni
Dr Steve Yentis

NHS Innovations and Medical Futures

NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement

Set up between 2002 and 2005 the 8 NHS Innovations Hubs are helping to deliver improved care and better outcomes for patients.
Find out more »

Medical Futures

Medical Futures is one of the world’s leading fora for catalysing medical innovation.
Find out more »